when our time is up, when our lifes are done, will we say we've had our fun?

reminders i need

just read an article about the life of the lower income families. it made me realise how fortunate i actually am, and that i’m not as poor as i tend to make out myself to be. some shallow tweets of mine would sound something like, ” i just bought this bla bla bla now i’m so broke”. every now and then, i need to be reminded of that.

deep inside i do know that my family isn’t that financially poor since my parents were able to give us quite a comfortable life and adequate education. no snazzy sports car each, but they did chauffeur us around up till secondary school. we were in our early teens when we started to learn how to use the public transport. no golden bathtubs at home, but they did give us more than enough tuition classes, piano classes, art classes, speech and drama classes, abacus classes, etc. no private yachts, but our house did have a garden for us to play in. i couldn’t study in some fancy part of UK as the cost would be too high, but my family did manage to send me to a university in australia. this list could just go on.

despite knowing those, there are times when i start looking over the fence, to those leading an even more comfortable life. they have private yachts, they can take trips to any part of the world whenever they want, they can afford to do so many things i can’t.

a happy person, is a person who is contented with what he/she has. if we keep looking over the fence and envying others, there’s no way we could ever be happy.

for now, i would like to publicly announce how content i am with my life and that i love my family with all my heart.

p.s. i just bought tickets to an end of year trip to new zealand with my friends and bf! 😛 looking forward to that! need to save up $! something i’ve always wanted to do but never got around to doing, is to get a part time job here!! lol. i will do that one day.

Leave a comment